USA, Happy Independence Day!

Did you know?

A convention of delegates, known as the Second Continental Congress, represented America's Thirteen Colonies. The Thirteen Colonies were a group of British colonies on the east coast of North America founded in the 17th and 18th centuries. Modern-day state borders: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island.


The Second Continental Congress started meeting in the spring of 1775, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. America's 13 colonies' battle cry was "taxation without representation!" as they were forced to pay taxes to England's King George III despite having no representation in the British Parliament ("History of Independence Day | A Capitol Fourth," 2018). 


On July 2nd, 1776, the Continental Congress voted in favor of independence, and two days later,  delegates from the 13 colonies adopted the Declaration of Independence, a document largely written by Thomas Jefferson ("History," 2009). 


The Second Paragraph of the Declaration of Independence states, “We hold these Truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness." 


The Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights are known collectively as the Charters of Freedom that have secured the rights of the American people and are considered instrumental to the founding and philosophy of the United States ("America's Founding Documents," 2018). 


Some interesting facts:

  • 8 of the signers were born in Ireland or Britain.
  • The oldest signer was Benjamin Franklin (70) from Boston, Massachusetts. 
  • The youngest signer was Edward Rutledge (26) from Charleston, South Carolina. 
  • In 1781, Massachusetts became the first state to make July 4th a state holiday. 
  • Independence Day celebrations gained, even more, popularity after the War of 1812.
  • The US Congress declared Independence Day a federal legal holiday in 1941.
  • Both of the founding fathers, John Adams and Thomas Jefferson, died on July 4th, 1826. 
  • The Declaration of Independence was signed more than two and a half years after the Boston Tea Party, 1971, were a group of colonists protested thirteen years of increased British oppression and taxation, by attacking merchant ships in Boston Harbor. 
  • Displays of fireworks take place across the United States on Independence Day!


Source: Interactive: 4th of July by the Numbers. (2017). 

Retrieved from



America's Founding Documents. (2018). Retrieved from


History. (2009). Retrieved from